Skip to content
    Print Icon  


Essex County Council Chambers

Two-Tier County Government

The County of Essex is governed by Essex County Council. The type of municipal government found in Essex County is called a two- tier system, which means that the 7 lower tier municipalities within the County of Essex are governed by elected Councils, as well as the upper tier county government being in place. Each level of municipal government in a county two- tier system is responsible for providing different programs and services.

Programs and services

At the County of Essex, we provide a wide variety of programs and services that are common to all municipalities in Essex County, so there is no duplication of programs and services. As well, we provide funding for many programs and services that are operated by other organizations or governments including: social services, child care, social housing, public health, economic development, tourism and property assessment.

Section summary

In this section, we will introduce you to who we are at the County of Essex and what programs and services we provide including: our departments, County Council members, agendas, minutes, by-laws, election information and the mission, vision and values that guide County Council and staff.

Essex County is 'a great place to grow'! Find out through our News and Announcements section what is happening in the County. You can also sign up to receive alerts and eNewsletters to your inbox so you don't miss a thing.

Do you want to have your say about what is happening in the County of Essex? We want to hear from you. Visit Feedback and let us know what you think.

This section also has information on the various reports and projects underway in the County. Interested in working at the County of Essex? Check out the Careers section for both full-time, part-time, temporary and student positions.

You can also find historical information on the County and archived documents.

Welcome to the County of Essex!